Three branches of the united states government

No other name appears in the Constitution, and this is the name that appears on money, in treaties, and in legal cases to which it is a party e.

Three branches of the united states government

Introduction[ edit ] The United States Constitution divides government into three separate and distinct branches: The concept of separate branches with distinct powers is known as "separation of powers.

Three branches of the united states government

The Englishman John Locke first pioneered the idea, but he only suggested a separation between the executive and legislative. Each branch is theoretically equal to each of the others. The branches check each others powers and use a system known as checks and balances.

Thus, no branch can gain too much power and influence, thus reducing the opportunity for tyrannical government. The Preamble to the American Constitution sets out these aims in the general statement: Its main function is to make laws.

Branches of Government |

It also oversees the execution of these laws, and checks various executive and judicial powers. The Congress is bicameral - it is composed of two houses. One house is the House of Representatives and the other is the Senate.

The House of Representatives is currently composed of four hundred and thirty-five members. Each of the fifty states is allocated one or more representatives based on its population which is calculated on a decennial basis once in ten years.

Each state is guaranteed at least one representative. A state that is allocated more than one representative divides itself, as state procedures dictate, into a number of districts equal to the number of representatives to which it is entitled.

The people of each district vote to elect one representative to Congress States that have only one representative allocated choose at-large representatives - the state votes as one entire district. The District of Columbia and a number of U.

These delegates may participate in debates, and sit and vote in committee, but are not allowed to vote in the full House. Every House member faces re-election in an even-numbered year and is elected to a two-year term. The House is presided over by a Speaker, who is directly elected by the members of the House.

The Senate is the upper house of the legislative branch of the United States and possesses one hundred members which is considerably less than the four hundred and thirty-five members of the House of Representatives.

In addition, only one-third of the Senate stands for election during an even year. The Senate and the House are both required to approve legislation before it becomes a law. The two houses are equal in legislative power, but revenue bills bills relating to taxation may only originate in the House.

The Senate holds additional powers relating to treaties and the appointments of executive and judicial officials. This power is known as "advice and consent. To grant advice and consent on treaties, two-thirds of the Senators must concur agree. While most votes require a simple majority to pass, it sometimes takes three-fifths of senators to bring a bill to a vote.

This is because Senate rules hold that a bill cannot be voted on as long as it is being debated--and there is no limit on how long a senator may debate a bill. Senators sometimes use this rule to filibuster a bill--that is, continue debating a bill endlessly so that it cannot be voted on.

The only way to end a filibuster is for three-fifths of all Senators to vote for a cloture resolution, which ends all debate and brings the bill up for voting. Use of the filibuster tends to be controversial.

Three Branches of Government Educational Videos | WatchKnowLearn

Whichever party is in the majority tends to call its use "obstructionism," while the other side sees it as an important check on the majority.

The House has the sole power to impeach federal executive and judicial officers. According to the Constitution, officers may be impeached for "treason, bribery, or other high crimes and misdemeanors. The Constitution requires that any individual convicted by the Senate to be removed from office.

The Senate also has the power to bar that individual from further federal office. The Senate may not impose any further punishment, although the parties are still subject to trial in the courts. As the Vice-President being next-in-line to the Presidency would have an obvious conflict of interest in presiding at a trial of the President, in such cases, the Chief Justice presides.

Interestingly, no similar provision prevents the Vice-President from presiding at his or her own trial. The main function of this branch is to execute the laws created by Congress. The President and the Vice-President are chosen by the Electoral College, a body of people elected for the purpose of electing the President.Each article covers a general topic, For example, Articles create the three branches of national government- the legislative,executive, and judicial branches.

Most of the articles are divided into sections. UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT STUDENT TEXT [AGS Secondary] on *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers.

What could be more important than learning about government?

Related Topics

United States citizens need to stay informed. Section 1: Federal courts. Section 1 vests the judicial power of the United States in federal courts, requires a supreme court, allows inferior courts, requires good behavior tenure for judges, and prohibits decreasing the salaries of judges.

The United States has three branches of government: the executive, the legislative and the judicial. Each of these branches has a distinct and essential role in the function of the government, and they were established in Articles 1 (legislative), 2 (executive) and 3 (judicial) of the U.S. Constitution.

United States Government. The Constitution of the United States is the central instrument of American government and the supreme law of the land. Find our how powers are separated between the Legislative, Judicial, and Executive branches of government.

It's pretty cool how the system of checks and balances helps limit the power that any one branch can exercise!

The Three Branches of the United States Government | Joslyn Law Firm